District Leadership

Our district superintendent is Rev. Bret Layton. Bret and Beth Layton came to us from a ministry position as vice president of advancement at World Gospel Mission. He previously pastored here on our district at Elk River Church of the Nazarene in Charleston from 1994 until 2002.

Rev. Layton has preached, taught, and trained pastors and other leaders in numerous countries around the world. His experiences in pastoral ministry and the non-profit world are a great benefit to our district.

Bret has also served churches in Ohio (Ironton First, Hamilton Millville Avenue, Springfield High Street), Georgia (Macon Shurlington), and Virginia (Roanoke First). He was also Sunday School and Discipleship Ministries International chair for the Northwestern Ohio District while in Springfield.

“I enjoy partnering with the wonderful pastors and churches on the West Virginia South District in building the Kingdom and striving to fulfill the Great Commission of our Lord,” Layton says. “Southern West Virginia is such an incredible place … with warm, loving, and hospitable people. Being missional is just part of who we are! It’s exciting to be part of it all!”

Originally from Columbus, Ohio, Bret is a graduate of Circleville Bible College (now Ohio Christian University) and Mount Vernon Nazarene College (now University). He was ordained on the South Central Ohio District in 1989.

Beth Layton also ably serves as our District Office Secretary.

District Officers

District Superintendent: Bret Layton
District Secretary: Charles V. Williams
District Treasurer: Allan Jones

Advisory Board: Kent Estep, Charles V. Williams, Randy Ledsome, Mack Bailey, Charles Webb, Ollie Parsons, Brenda Bower, David Koontz

Ministerial Credentials Committee: Bret Layton, Charles V. Williams, David Clark, Bonnie Hissom, Kevin Walker, Gary Jakes, Greg Hudson, Ollie Parsons, Larry Arbogast, Gordon Killion, Randy James
Ministerial Studies Committee: Bret Layton, Kent Estep, Rick Gardner, Mark Ice, Bethany Carr, Philip Bower, Randy Ledsome

MVNU Trustees: Bret Layton, Ollie Parsons, Kent Estep, Laura Crouch, Don Nelson

Camp Board: Bret Layton, Kevin Walker, Chuck Taylor, Ollie Parsons, Adam Carr (Treasurer)

District Superintendents Emeriti: C. Harold Smith & Mervin C. Smith

Upcoming Events

Conventions, District Assembly and Camps

General Assembly & Conventions

Upcoming Ministry Classes

Our Churches

With 50+ churches on our district, we have a church home for everyone, no matter where in Southern West Virginia you live.

Home | About Us | Our Churches | Our Ministries | Center for Ministry Formation
Pastors | News & Events | Resources | Contact

PO Box 486, Charleston, WV 25322 | 304-768-5015 | [email protected]‚Äč